Return to Clare's Costly Cookie
Sort By::
Page of 3
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Spiritually Enriching November 16, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Pensacola, FL United States  
Someone gave us the 2nd book "The Costly Cookie Chronicles" (on the Rosary). I liked it so much I bought this 1st one. Chapters are short, following the same rhythm of Clare talking to Jesus in her own words, listening quietly, then talking some more. We don't hear Jesus, except through Clare's own ponderings. Dialogue is believable and age-appropriate but fits in a lot of great catechesis and spiritual wisdom. Chapters conclude with a relevant Bible verse. I’d pick the years immediately after a child's 1st Communion as the ideal age for this book, but it even speaks to me as an adult, so I'd recommend it for any age. Clare herself is about 9. She has a big faithful Catholic family and struggles to get along with her siblings and obey her parents. My son is an only child, but still gets much from the reflections. Could be incorporated into homeschooling or used as parent/child reflection at bedtime. Any way you use it, I'm sure it will enrich your prayer life as it enriched mine.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 September 25, 2020
Reviewer: Britney Boyd from Flowery Branch, GA United States  
Will be ordering more.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Excellent book! September 20, 2020
Reviewer: Lyn Braatz from Kaukauna, WI United States  
My daughter and I loved this book so much that I started buying it as a gift for others to enjoy too! Thank you for the opportunity to share this!!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 A lovely book September 20, 2020
Reviewer: Anna K from KY United States  
A lovely book to teach the importance of prayer

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Clare's Costly Cookie September 8, 2020
Reviewer: Donna Bantel from Cincinnati, OH United States  
A good book to read to my School of Religion class

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Relatable for six-year-old August 10, 2020
Reviewer: Emilee from NM  
Matthew Kelly said something along the lines of, "Tell me what you're going to read this year and I'll tell you how your life with change." At the time, I didn't realize this also applies to children, but this book has made that clear. My six-year-old enjoys me reading to her about Clare, to whom she can relate. Since we started reading this (one chapter before bed each night) I've been finding her praying the rosary, something I struggled to get her to do during family prayer time. This book is a gem.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Simple stories that touch the heart! June 27, 2020
Reviewer: Rebecca Francis from Baltimore, MD United States  
Beautiful modeling for how to converse with Jesus. Children & adults benefit!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Read Aloud May 3, 2020
Reviewer: Beth Hofmaster from Batavia, NY United States  
I am reading a chapter a day on line with my students at St. Joseph Regional School in Batavia,NY

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Wonderful Book! April 22, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
I've read this with my eldest daughter twice now, once when she was 4 1/2 and again when she was almost 6. I'm sure we will read it again soon, this time with her younger sister who will soon be 4. I love how Clare learns the beauty and simplicity of prayer, true prayer which means not only talking to Jesus but learning to listen to Him as well. I definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Wonderful Catholic Instruction April 22, 2020
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
I loved this book. I really love how it demonstrates, in a very approachable/understandable way, how to pray to Jesus from our hearts. I try to teach my children how to have conversations with Jesus, and although they both have vivid imaginations, sometimes it is still difficult to convey to them. I like that this demonstrates how we can talk to Jesus in the same way we would talk to a parent, in a language that is not "just for church." I also love the use of scripture at the end of each scene. I was looking for a book that tied the Scriptures to character qualities and obedience, etc, but the only ones I found were very Protestant in tone. I ordered one of them, but it didn't really fit my need. This book is beautiful. My children (at least my oldest, who just turned 5), can identify with the scenarios and better understand the Scripture. I am just so excited about it. Thanks for writing it, even if that was not your intention originally. Clearly it was meant to be written :) It helps me put into words the struggles my children have and how they hurt our relationship with each other and the Church in a more Catholic manner than I have seen before.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items